1. Fences by August Wilson
  2. Title 3
  3. Title 4
  4. Title 8
  5. Title 9
  6. Title 10
  7. Title 15
  8. Title 19
  9. Title 21
  10. Title 23


​​​​Our mission is to produce engaging, culturally diverse theater from an African American perspective while educating our community on African American history and the arts.


AART Presents Pure Confidence 

by Award-Winning Playwright Carlyle Brown


A determined jockey, Simon Cato, who is a slave during the Civil War, uses his wits and his championship winnings to buy freedom for himself and his wife in Carlyle Brown’s Pure Confidence. But winning in life proves elusive in the regional premiere of this 2009 off-Broadway play, presented by African American Repertory Theater at Mountain View College.  Based on historical events, AART's production is directed  by Regina Washington and stars Darren McElroy, Christian Taylor, Raven Lawes, Jo-Jo Steine, Ken Orman and Parker Fitzgerald.

​ "One surefire crowd-pleaser." —N.Y. Times.

Remaining Shows:
Thursday, January 25, 2018 @ 7:30pm    
Friday, January 26, 2018 @ 7:30pm           
Saturday, January 27, 2018 @ 2:30pm
Saturday, January 27, 2018 @ 7:30pm

Tickets:  $15-$27



Carlyle Brown is the 2006 recipient of The Black Theatre Network's Winona Lee Fletcher Award for outstanding achievement and artistic excellence, a 2008 Guggenheim Fellow, a 2010 recipient of the Otto Rene' Castillo Award for Political Theatre, 2010 United States Artists Friends Fellowship, and recently named the 2018 William Inge Theater Festival Honoree.    
Described by The New York Times as "one of America's more significant playwrights" he has a long and rich history of creating plays that dramatize historical events in a way that makes them accessible to present-day audiences.
Best Actor 
 Telvin Griffin won Best Actor in a leading role for AART's production of FLY
Best Chorographer
Sean J. Smith won the Irma P. Hall Award for Best Choreographer for AART's production of FLY.
BEST Sound Design
TBAAL Sponsored Irma P. Hall Awards
 Bear Hamilton won Best Sound Design for AART's production of FLY.
  AART was nominated in eight categories and was honored to be the recipient in four categories.   Celebrating ALL of the nominees and grateful for the awards!  Thank you TBAAL and Jiles King for a platform to celebrate Black Theater and many thanks to everyone who voted!  Grateful!!!
Best Costume Design
 Regina Washington won Best Costume Design for AART's production of FLY

AART Fundraiser:  "An Evening of AART"
 at the Sammons Center

 Thank you for joining AART for our fundraiser as we we presented excerpts from August Wilson’s iconic “Century Cycle” which charts the African American experience in each decade of the 20th Century; and features AART Founder, Irma P. Hall.  It was a great evening full of entertainment, fun and fellowship. 

           Thank Yo
 Everyone who atended AART's Award-Winning production of FLY!!!

Sean J. Smith (Tap Griot)

Purchase Tickets

Telvin Griffin (W.W)

Van Stripling  II (Chet)

FLY by Trey Ellis and Ricardo Kahn is the powerful story of African American military pioneers, known as the Tuskegee Airmen, who proved themselves to be some of the best fighter pilots during WWII.  AART is proud to present this important pa​rt of history in association with Mountain View College.   AART's production is directed by Willie Minor.  The cast features Telvin Griffin, Van Stripling II, Daniel Saunders, Darren McElroy, Michael Brannian, Bill Jenkins, Garrett McPherson, and Sean J. Smith of the Dallas Black Dance Theater as the Tap Griot.  The show opens June 16 and  runs through July 1, 2017 at the MVC Performance Hall located on the campus of Mountain View College. 

JUNE 16 - JULY 1, 2017
Thursdays, Fridays & Saturdays @ 7:30pm
Saturdays @ 2:30pm

Show Location:
MVC Performance Hall
4849 West Illinois Avenue
Dallas, Texas  75211

Ticket Prices: $15 - $30 
For specail group rates email or call 972.572.0998

Daniel Saunders (Oscar)

Darren McElroy     (J. Allen)

Michael Brennian (Shaw)

    Bill Jenkins        (Capt. O'Hurley)

Garrett McPherson (Reynolds)